John Hawkins Music

‘Hawkins writes in a sound-language which can be enjoyable and even compelling, ensuring communication at a first hearing’


Period Pieces

Written in lockdown, these four short keyboard pieces follow an imagined baroque suite in form (Allemande, Courante, Sarabande and Gigue) but not in style: not quite old and not quite new! PDF available from me.

Hear the Gigue on Soundcloud


Fenella Humphries included a superb performance of my ‘BoBop’ for solo violin in her lockdown concert on 5th July, together with pieces by Biber and Schubert and the premiere of ‘Caged Bird’ by Alison Berry. See it all on YouTube at
(Bobop starts at  about 34′)

Odd Ode

In a poetic palinode the writer retracts a view expressed in an earlier piece … but, sadly, like so many other events, the May 27th performance in the wonderful St Anne’s concert series of my own ‘Palinode’ quintet has had to be temporarily retracted!

John Hawkins composer

John Hawkins studied composition with Malcolm Williamson and Elisabeth Lutyens. He has written a wide range of chamber, vocal, choral and orchestral pieces, which have been performed worldwide.