John Hawkins Music

‘Hawkins writes in a sound-language which can be enjoyable and even compelling, ensuring communication at a first hearing’


Old Year/New Year

Pieces written in 2018
Grounds (Concertino for oboe and strings)
The Dong with a Luminous Nose (Voice and Clarinet)
Last Tango in Brighton (CoMA ensemble)
Laments and Scherzos (Orchestra)
Simplicius Simplicissimus (Clarinet and String Orchestra)
Take Two (Guitar duo)
Time and Again (Orchestra)

Looking forward/ Looking Back

On Monday 19th November, Siân Philipps’ recital for violin and piano at Blackheath Concert Halls included my ‘Looking Back‘ which I wrote for her and which she premiered two years ago in London. The concert also included music by Mendelssohn and Grace Williams.


‘Tri’ is for six violas which is unusual but these three pieces exploit the wonderful rich sound which the combination produces. The many performances of ‘Tri’ include those given by students at the Royal Academy, London, the Royal Welsh School of Music and Drama and The Guildhall School of Music and Drama. The Guildhall is again including ‘Tri’ as part of its viola day on 16th November.


‘Grounds‘ is a new concertino for oboe and string orchestra. The three short movements are based on different ground bases which develop into increasingly florid and passionate music.

John Hawkins composer

John Hawkins studied composition with Malcolm Williamson and Elisabeth Lutyens. He has written many chamber, vocal and orchestral pieces, which have been performed worldwide, as well as successful music for children,